Met Office

You are here

Country: 
UK
Contact: 

Pete Falloon (pete.falloon[at]metoffice.gov.uk)

Carlo Buontempo (carlo.buontempo[at]metoffice.gov.uk)

Felicity Liggins (felicity.liggins[at]metoffice.gov.uk)

Inika Taylor (inika.taylor[at]metoffice.gov.uk)

Simon Stanley (simon.stanley[at]metoffice.gov.uk)

Anca Brookshaw (anca.bookshaw[at]metoffice.gov.uk)

Ruth Comer (ruth.comer[at]metoffice.gov.uk)

Ross Middleham (ross.middleham[at]metoffice.gov.uk)

The Met Office is the UK's National Weather Service. It includes the Met Office Hadley Centre (MetO) with 180 employees who specialise in climate research and prediction to inform decision-making. The Met Office employs a total of 510 Scientists. The Met Office is a Trading Fund within the UK Government’s Department for Business, Innovation and Skills. This status engenders a business approach in addition to our R&D activities resulting in successful products and service delivery.

The Met Office has developed and delivered climate services within the UK and internationally for many years. Users are from a variety of sectors including water, energy, health, transport, agriculture and tourism. These services inform decision-making for adaptation and mitigation to climate variability and climate change. The development of the Met Office’s Climate Service is a key strategic aim to satisfy customer requirements. Over the last few years the MetO has been at the forefront of research into climate variability and predictability; development of operational ensemble-prediction systems, derived applications and products for seasonal to decadal timescale.

The Met Office is highly active in numerous international climate service-related activities, including WMO’s GPCs for long-range forecasts. Outputs from these will be part of climate services in Europe; WMO’s key strategic activity to develop the Global Framework for Climate Services (GFCS): Involvement in writing the Implementation Plan being written for approval by WMO Extraordinary Congress; Climate Services Partnership (CSP): Co-organised the First International Conference on Climate Services in October 2011. This led to the creation of the CSP, where the Met Office has a seat on the Core Group. FP6 ENSEMBLES project: Co-ordinated by the Met Office. The footing for climate services in Europe. Other EU FP projects, e.g.: EUCLIPSE - Climate cloud processes; ERA-CLIM - Global climate re-analyses; ICE 2 SEA - Sea and sea-ice processes for climate; and COMBINE - Improvements in climate modelling.

About

SPRINT provides information about the potential for weather impacts on UK transport ahead of (and during) the winter season.